Children abroad

The Hague Convention aims to ensure more efficient and speedy cooperation between countries, so that children are protected and get the best possible service.

The 1996 Hague Convention's guidance covers:

These points would include practitioners cooperating to provide information which would help make decisions about;

It applies to child protection cases across the EU and the 11 non-EU states that have so far opted in to the treaty. (The 11 non-EU countries are: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Croatia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Monaco, Morocco, Switzerland, Ukraine and Uruguay).

Quick links: 

Asking another state for help:

Responding to a request from another state:

What is 'habitual residence'?

Detailed advice on the Hague Convention's application: